How to Delete Your GMail Account

by jim on February 8th, 2012

Let’s say you’re doing some spring cleaning and decide that you have a GMail account you no longer want, you can let it languish, never to log in ever again… or you can delete your account. If you delete your account, it’s gone forever in a matter of weeks. You won’t free up your username and you won’t be able to use that username ever again in the future. If you delete your account, it’s gone.

So how do you delete your GMail account? It’s actually quite easy.

You’ll need to look in your Mail Settings, which is the little gear icon in the upper right. Then go to the Accounts and Import tab at the top. On that menu, click on Other Google Account settings link and then Edit under My products. That’s where you’ll find some choices under Services. From here, you have two options:

  • Delete profile and remove associated Google+ features
  • Close entire account and delete all services and info associated with it

Clicking on “Close entire account and delete all services and info associated with it” will delete your account.

If you do change your mind, you have a couple weeks before they delete it forever. They tell you that it may take up to 60 days to be deleted but if you do want it recovered, the best they can do is recover the username.

So, if you want to delete it, you can… but there’s almost no going back.

RSS Subscribe Like this article? Get all the latest articles sent to your email for free every day. Just click "Subscribe" and enter your email. Your email will only be used for this daily subscription and you can unsubscribe anytime.

Leave a Reply